bar fight charges in Colorado Springs

Charges You Might Face After a Bar Fight in Colorado

During the holiday season, you were are at a party ushering in the New Year with your friends and family. Nothing could be better than participating in the festivities with your loved ones, right? However, a set of people celebrating with too much vigor in the same bar seem to be getting rowdier by the hour.

Alcohol has a way of bringing our most intense emotions to the fore. As you too were with a group of equally drunk people, one thing led to another, and you found yourself in the middle of a full-blown bar fight. We all know how quickly these bar fights escalate, and soon you find yourself facing multiple charges.

The charges will depend on circumstances surrounding the fight, including the extent and nature of the physical violence, and at what point in the bar fight you got arrested by the police.

Why Am I Facing Charges When I Did Not Instigate the Fight?

Suppose you were not the original perpetrator but were forced to participate in it when others attacked you and your friends first. Can the cops still charge you with assault and other offenses? The answer is yes.

If someone else started the fight or took a swing first, you can still end up facing assault charges. Even if you took rearguard action in self-defense, which you are allowed to, the action taken by you must be commensurate with the initial blow.

For instance, if someone pushes you and you use a chair to hit them over their head, you cannot get away with calling such retaliation as self-defense. Of course, the best course of action you can adopt is to stay out of a fight if you can help it.

Charges You Might Face After a Colorado Bar Fight

As we mentioned earlier, the charges that the cops can bring on you depend upon the specific circumstances of the fight and the extent of your complicity in the action. Let us take a brief look at the gamut of charges that might be thrown at you after a Colorado bar fight:

  • Disorderly Conduct

Under Colorado laws, making a crude or insulting remark in public, or creating unnecessarily loud noise in close vicinity of private residences constitutes disorderly conduct.

These types of disorderly conduct are classified as Class 1 petty offenses, with penalties of up to six months in prison, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Penalties may increase on the second or subsequent convictions. Penalties are higher for Class 1 petty offenses if your disorderly conduct disrupts a funeral.

Indulging in a fight publicly is also illegal, being disorderly conduct of Class 3 misdemeanor category with penalties up to $50, up to six months in prison, or both.

Discharging, or threatening to discharge, a weapon in public is considered a Class 2 misdemeanor. Punishment includes a penalty of at least $250 going up to $1,000, a minimum of six months and up to a year of jail term, or both.

  • Class 2 Public Nuisance

Any behavior or conduct that disturbs the peace in a congregation of people or in close vicinity of a residential area may be charged under Class 2 public nuisance. Several other behaviors like promotion of professional gambling, serving liquor to underage individuals, soliciting prostitution, sale of stolen items, and drug dealing, are included in the public nuisance offense.

Penalties may vary as per the conduct and damages due to the conduct and are likely to include a fine, jail term, or both.

  • Criminal Mischief

In Colorado, a person is charged with criminal mischief when they knowingly damage the property, whether real or personal, of one or more persons. The law considers breaks, damages, and defacement of another individual’s property as criminal mischief, leaving stealing out of its gambit.

Under Colorado law, a conviction for criminal mischief requires that the crime was committed knowingly, thus leaving out any accidental damage. For instance, if you happen to accidentally deface your neighbor’s fence while painting your own, you cannot be charged with criminal mischief. The intent behind the crime is the key.

  • Assault

In Colorado, the legal definition of assault stresses an act that causes bodily injury to another person unlawfully. Often, assault involves such actions as slapping, pushing, hitting, punching, strangling, shoving, kicking, shooting, stabbing, or throwing objects at another person.

Degrees of Assault in Colorado

Colorado law defines different degrees of assault. The assault charges that you might face depend on multiple factors, such as:

  • The use of a deadly weapon in the assault
  • The defendant’s state of mind at the time of the assault
  • The nature and extent of the victim’s physical injuries
  • If the victim was an on-duty official like a police officer, firefighter, emergency medical provider, or judge

Get Legal Advice from an Accomplished Colorado Attorney

Colorado state laws do not take misdemeanor offenses lightly, prescribing substantial potential penalties if you are convicted. The best way to deal with these charges is to consult an experienced Colorado criminal defense lawyer.

At Anderson & Carnahan, Attorneys at Law, our criminal defense attorneys, with over 50 years of combined legal experience, are here to help you defend against the most serious legal charges. We have intimate familiarity and in-depth knowledge of Colorado state’s laws and legal procedures, making us well-positioned to provide you with the best defense possible.

Contact our office today at (719) 454-8059 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *