how can a dui affect my car insurance?

How Will Getting a DUI Impact My Auto Insurance?

A citation for drunken driving, whether on the charges of DUI, DWI, or DWAI, will significantly affect your premiums and raise your car insurance rates for up to several years. Getting a single DUI could result in you ending up paying more than double the premium for your insurance coverage.

We found that a single DUI, on average, may raise car insurance premiums by 72 percent. A driver convicted of DUI is deemed a greater risk to the safety of other road users as well as themselves, resulting in a steep increase in the insurance rates. Regaining your driving privileges could also become a complicated task as you may have to obtain an SR-22 form from the insurer to be behind the wheel of your car again.

Will the Insurance Company Find Out About My DUI?

Your insurance company will find out about your DUI conviction through the department of motor vehicles (DMV) in your state, at the time of renewal of your policy. Usually, the insurance companies run a check on your driving record around this time, and a recent DUI conviction would show up on the record.

Therefore, trying to hide your DUI conviction may not be a prudent option under the circumstances. Not only will it not prevent a rate increase, but your insurance company may drop your vehicle insurance policy altogether. Moreover, you may need your insurance company to file an SR-22 form on your behalf to prove that you have the minimum liability car insurance.

Why Do I Need an SR-22 Insurance After My DUI Conviction?

Colorado drivers with a severe traffic offense conviction, such as reckless driving or a DUI, compulsorily require SR-22 insurance in order to reinstate driving privileges. Filed by your insurance company, SR-22 is not insurance in itself but serves as evidence to the government that your motor vehicle insurance meets the state’s minimum liability coverage requirements.

In Colorado, SR-22 minimum coverage insurance costs an average of $1,078 per year, as compared to a standard auto insurance policy that costs $764 per year on average. When your insurer files the SR-22, you will need to shell out filing fees between $15 to $35. While some insurers will not file the SR-22 for you, there is a chance of your insurance company terminating your policy if you have a long traffic violations record.

Although the SR-22 filing requirement is three years on average, Colorado Statute 42-2-132.5(4)(b)(II) grants a relaxation for first-time DUI offenders, by shortening the time frame of the actual requirement to between 4 months to 3 years.

Does a DUI Stay on My Insurance for Long?

While a DUI violation can remain on your record for 5 to 10 years, or even longer in some cases, it is likely to affect your insurance rates for somewhere between 3 and 5 years after your conviction. You should contact your insurance company after three years of your DUI conviction to reevaluate your auto insurance rates and find out if they are willing to bring the rates down to their normal levels.

Typical Factors That Affect My Auto Insurance After a DUI

While several factors will influence your insurance rates after a DUI; location, age, gender, insurance provider, and the elapsed time since your conviction, all play an important role.

Age of the Driver

Following a DUI conviction, your age plays an essential role in your insurance company charging you a higher premium for your auto insurance policy. Insurance providers generally view younger drivers as riskier insurance propositions, resulting in the insurance costs of an 18-year-old DUI convict being almost two and a half times that of a 30-year-old with the same history. Insurance rates can go up by nearly three times as much for younger drivers with a DUI conviction when compared with older drivers.

Elapsed Time Since the Last Conviction

The amount of time that has elapsed since your last DUI conviction also influences the insurance rates. Generally, most insurance providers take into account the past three to five years of your driving record to arrive at your DUI insurance quote. Some auto insurance companies stipulate a minimum requirement of 35 months of clean and sober driving following your DUI conviction before you are eligible for lower rates.

Number of DUI Conviction

The number of DUI convictions on a driver’s record in the past three years also plays an important role in the premium calculations by the insurance companies. For instance, a 30-year-old with 4 DUIs may need to cough out full-coverage premiums that are 285 percent higher than the premiums paid by someone with one DUI.

Insurance Companies

Every insurance provider has its own set of calculations and formula for assigning insurance rates, so we suggest that you should compare quotes from at least three auto insurance carriers to ensure that you get the least expensive insurance rates after a DUI.

Hire an Accomplished Colorado DUI Defense Attorney to Represent You

Known for their aggressive and compassionate legal representation for over 50 years, the criminal defense attorneys at Anderson & Carnahan can help and guide you to protect your legal rights in criminal charges ranging from DUI to sex offenses.

Our hard working and effective Colorado DUI defense lawyers are always available to discuss your DUI case. Call us today at 719-454-8059 or contact us online to schedule a free and confidential case consultation.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *